How to pull Yahoo Finance data into spreadsheets (Google Sheets and Excel)

Mariia Gushchina
4 min readDec 2, 2020

--

Do you prefer using spreadsheets for deeper analysis? If so, you are likely familiar with the problem of pulling high-quality, up-to-date data into a spreadsheet.

So far, Google Sheets has been my go-to app for tracking the performance of various stocks. At first, manually inputting data seemed like a great idea. However, with the growing number of stocks to track, I found that I needed a more efficient method. And here it is.

Yahoo Finance API for automated research on stocks

Yahoo Finance provides great access to metrics for the numerous stock tickers, then allows one to input the information into a spreadsheet. However, the process is still manual, which is exactly what I wanted to avoid.

So, I started researching tools to automate my routine. I found that the data could be scraped out of the Yahoo Finance website. Or, if I wanted to be more sophisticated, I could use the Yahoo Finance API to pull the data into spreadsheets using the IMPORTXML formula or the ImportJSON script. Of course, I could apply my programming skills to solve this issue, but I would rather save my time and use a no-code solution.

After a long search, I discovered the easiest way to pull real-time Yahoo Finance data into my spreadsheets with no code. Apparently, Google Sheets offers a large range of add-ons. The Google Sheets add-on is a customizable application integrated into the spreadsheet to extend its functionality. The add-ons make our beloved spreadsheets infinitely powerful!

No-coding solution for stock research

There were many good add-ons for my problem but this one, called WebDataHub, does exactly what I needed, without any knowledge of coding. It pulls all financial data I need for my research, like real-time quotes, price history, summary details, financial data, key statistics, ESG scores, income statements, cash flow statements, and balance sheet statements.

And thanks to Yahoo Finance, it is not limited to equity stocks. The add-on pulls data for various indices, currency exchange rates, cryptocurrency, ETF, mutual funds, etc. — all real-time, high-quality data in my single spreadsheet!

The WebDataHub add-on can be found and installed from the Google G Suite Marketplace directly through this link.

For those who prefer Excel over Google Sheets, I suggest first loading the data with the add-on into Google Sheets and then downloading XLSX from Google Sheets, as shown in the video.

Thanks for reading this far! I won’t tell you what analysis to perform on this type of data, as you know better than I do. However, in the comments, you can share your ideas regarding analysis using Yahoo Finance data. It would also be great if you could brainstorm ideas of what data sources can be meshed to create unique and profitable insights. For example, I’m wondering whether meshing real estate data from Zillow or Realtor.com, finance data from Yahoo Finance, short rental data from Airbnb, and travel data from Tripadvisor can help one find undervalued properties that are good for investing. Please share your thoughts in the comments.

UPDATE:

I recently learned a few ways how the Yahoo Finance data is used for analysis and I would like to share them in the article, since the article gained a lot of attention.

First, the add-on becomes a great engine for a personal stock market portfolio tracker. The next video demonstrates how such a portfolio tracker can be configured in Google Sheets.

Second, cryptocurrencies are taking over the financial world. And as a result more investors started getting crypto data for analysis. The video below shows how to pull historical prices into spreadsheets.

Third, the CALL and PUT options are very advanced financial instruments. And the options data can be also pulled from Yahoo Finance into Google Sheets for analysis. Here is the video about how it can be done.

The comments are always welcome!

Happy analysis!

This article is for informational purposes only. It should not be considered Financial or Legal Advice. Consult a financial professional before making any major financial decisions.

--

--